the case of the mysterious period

17 Aug

So, if you recall shortly before I went on vacation my period started – it lasted for a day then stopped only to reappear a week later and last for a full week.  So, now almost EXACTLY a month later my period has started again.  A month is normal for a lot of people, it has NEVER been normal for me.  I don’t know what to think – I’ve been super bad about taking my metformin so I know it’s not medicine magically giving me a regular cycle – so I’m not sure what could be causing it.  I’m anxious to see if it stays for all of a day only to disappear again and reappear a week from now.  I’m also worried that it could be a sign, a sign that another year long bleed-a-thon could be on the horizon – which I REALLY don’t want. 😦
In all honesty, I’m not sure what to do.  Is having a quasi-normal period something I should be happy about or concerned about?  We are in a complete holding pattern regarding our infertility and aside from contacting our RE a few weeks ago to get a refill on the Metformin, which I haven’t used since (yes-I know I suck), we haven’t had any appointments or anything with them since our last failed IUI.  Should I contact them, should I contact my regular OBGYN, should I just let it happen?  I’m also wondering if this is a sign I should start charting again and peeing on magic ovulation sticks?  Anyone, have any ideas/advice?

3 Responses to “the case of the mysterious period”

  1. Mel August 18, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    I’d contact them just to point out that normal is actually abnormal for you. I don’t know if they’ll do anything at first, but it may speed up them bringing you in to make sure nothing is wrong if the bleeding starts going wonky again.

  2. Emily @ablanket2keep August 18, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Let them know what is going on so if they want to check things out they can sooner than later. I hope this means things are working!

  3. JustHeather August 21, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    Just wanted to say that I agree with the first two ladies. It never hurts to ask when something is abnormal for yourself.

    p.s. Cool to see another rocketmail.com email user. They are quite rare these days, although I don’t really use mine anymore, even if I still have it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

