Sadness

20 Jul

I didn’t want to add this next few paragraphs to my last post because it would seem haphazard and  I debated honestly even saying something but I would feel a bit like a gigantic tool if I didn’t.  So this is honestly the best I can come up with because there really are no adequate words at a time like this.

My heart seriously aches for all those people in Aurora, Colorado right now.  I can’t even fathom how something like that happens.  My husband and myself were supposed to go to a midnight premiere here in Kansas last night, but we didn’t simply because we’ve been too busy.  We’ve been to numerous midnight premieres in the past and I’ve never once felt unsafe or thought about something bad happening at any of them.  Those types of events are a time for people with a shared love of a genre or film in general to get together and enjoy something.  It’s heartbreaking to think of violence intruding on anyone like that, I’ll never understand the motives (can there even be a true motive for an act like this) of an individual who chooses to end the lives of innocent people.  Just how every act of kindness can change the world sadly so does every act of violence.

Mel said it best here – there are no words for something like this.  The human language has the words “grief”, “sadness” and “tragedy” but we honestly don’t have the words to truly explain those things or to even remotely make them better.  There is no making it better.  One person took it upon himself to end the lives of people he didn’t know, who weren’t doing anything but enjoying some entertainment.  I can’t begin to understand what would make someone do that – insanity? anger? cruelty?.  None of those things would make it okay though and none of those things will ever bring back the loved ones that were just ripped from peoples lives last night.

So yes there are no words and all I really know is that today I called my mom, hugged my dogs and kissed my husband thankful for one more day in this world.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Sadness”

  1. DandelionBreeze July 20, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    I’ve only just heard about it here in Australia (it’s morning)… such a tragedy. Thinking of all those affected by this sense-less act xoxo

  2. Patience July 21, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I had a similar reaction. Couldn’t stop watching the news reports and yet was full of so much sadness. Dh is at a swim meet and hadn’t heard anything about it- so I had to tell him all about it. Such a sad, sad, situation for all those innocent people.

    Here from ICLW.

Leave a Reply

