Seriously?!?

13 Jul

So, the hubs and I have been watching “How I Met Your Mother” on Netflix – love the show.  But seriously I wish someone would have warned me about the quasi-infertility plot lines.  Just started 6th season and dealing with Lily’s worries about not being able to conceive is a bit too much.  I never used to notice this type of stuff in TV shows and movies and now it seems like it’s everywhere.  It’s great when it’s done well and can give people a glimpse into the suckiness of infertility but most of the time it’s not done well and either way it just sucks to watch when you are going through it yourself.

All I wanted to do was spend my Friday watching a show that makes me laugh (and has done so the last few weeks since we started watching it) now it’s just making me want to cry – plus it’s just awkward.

Ugh.  I’m hoping to come back around to this subject in a later entry.  Currently though my mind is just a bit crazy and writing out coherent thoughts is just a bit too much to ask at this point. 😦

 

6 Responses to “Seriously?!?”

  1. Stupid Stork July 13, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Ugh, I hate it when that stuff sneaks in and you’re not expecting it!

    Plus we’re always represented as either horrendously sad, or it takes two seconds before the people are fine with it.

    My favorite was on “Friends” when Monica & Chandler found out they had some minor issues, two episodes later and they were adopting. Also loved the Phoebe, on that show, came home from her IVF transfer and immediately tested positive for pregnancy.

    Ahh, television.

    • taradawes July 14, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      I remember watching Friends when that whole story line happened and thinking how sad it was but not really noticing the issues with it. I’ve watched it again since we started to TTC and I think it ended with me throwing things at the TV while crying.

  2. Jenn July 13, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    I don’t want to spoil it for you but robin also goes through fertility related drama and it’s way harder to watch than lily’s. I pretty much sobbed my way through that storyline.

    • taradawes July 14, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      I’ve actually seen that episode, I watched it because I had read some spoiler somewhere where it said it would deal with infertility. So I recall watching it, having no idea who any of the characters were but still weeping. The whole Lily/Marshall thing killed me though because I wasn’t expecting it, and there were some scenes that were supposed to be funny but when you are dealing with all the crap that we infertiles have had to deal with it stops being funny and just becomes heartbreaking.

  3. German bookworm July 14, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    I’m hearing ya on this subject. Sometimes I get the feeling people think they know what it is like because they saw it on Friends or How I met your mother….YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT IT IS LIKE!!!!! We’ve only been trying for 15months, so I can’t even start to comprehend what you guys are going trough, but at least we have direct contact with the issue. I think people producing these shows should really think what effects these things have on couples struggling with infertility!!!!

    • taradawes July 14, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      I think the people producing those shows know they have to wrap a story line up in a timely fashion so they don’t always do their homework on any subject much less infertility, which sucks.

Leave a Reply

