Well that just happened

14 Jun

Just found out my nephew’s 19-year old girlfriend who he has a 6 week old son with is likely pregnant again.  I don’t even want to really process this today – even remotely.  I mean seriously, did no one give this girl the birth control talk – not even her damn doctor?

She was just talking about going back to school and now she knows if she is pregnant (again) that probably isn’t going to happen.  They have no money, no jobs, no transportation and they are currently living at her grandmothers house.

I seriously don’t even know how to deal – my husband and I were in the middle of talking about the timing for our IVF treatments this upcoming winter and figuring out the finances when I got the news.

Lovely. 

3 Responses to “Well that just happened”

  1. Sunshine June 15, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Oh man. That is a hard one. Guess they didn’t know how that first one was made. Sorry sweetie.

    • taradawes June 15, 2012 at 10:11 am #

      Thank you. I just wanted to stress (especially since what I wrote makes me come off as a particularly bitter Betty) that I do feel bad for my nephew and his girlfriend in this situation, it’s not an easy situation for them I know, however it does sting (as anyone going through infertility knows) when you hear about the ease with which others “magically” happen upon pregnancy.

  2. talesofacautiousoptimist June 15, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    I’m sorry about your recent news. I don’t think you should feel bad about how it affects you personally as long as you are able to feel for the other person/people no matter whether it’s good news or bad news. My best friend is pregnant with her second baby…both times she “planned” to get pregnant a certain month b/c it was convenient for her schedule and it happened both times on her first try! I feel jealousy, anger, sadness, hurt, etc. for myself…but as much as I feel these horrible feelings, I feel happiness, excitement, and love for her. And I know she feels similarly (just the other way around)…sad, hurt, and terrible for me, but justifiably happy and excited for herself. We all feel a range of emotions when we find out that others are pregnant and they have no idea how lucky they should feel not to experience what we do….whether it’s a best friend, family, or a stranger we see in the store. Hang in there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

